Frick Park Clay Court Tennis Club


Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.


Clay Tips
Clay Rules
Clay U.S.A
Clay World
Local Tennis
Club Board

Annual Paul G. Sullivan Tennis Championships - July 11-19, 2009
Frick Park Clay Courts, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.


2009 Events:

Men's Open Singles
Women's Open Singles

Men's Senior Singles (50+)
Women's Senior Singles (50+)

Men's Open Doubles
Women's Open Doubles
Mixed Open Doubles

Entry Fees: Singles - $8, Doubles - $12

2009 Schedule:

JULY 11-13 (Sat-Mon):
Singles Matches
Men's and Women's Open
Men's and Women's Seniors

JULY 14-17 (Tue-Fri):
Singles Matches
Doubles Matches
Men's, Women's, and Mixed

JULY 18-19 (Sat-Sun):
Semifinal and Final Matches


The tournament is open to all amateur players in the Western Pennsylvania area 16 years of age and older. Players 50 years old or above can play either in the Open or the Senior Singles event, but not both. The City does not discriminate against anyone on the basis of race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, place of birth, sex, sexual orientation, familial status, age (40 and over), or non-disqualifying physical or mental disability, or on any other basis protected by federal, state or local law. All players agree to sign a waiver of claims form before playing their first match. All players agree to abide by tournament rules as specified by tournament officials. All match schedules are weather permitting. Entry deadline is Tuesday, July 7, 2009. Public seeding and draw will be held on Thursday, July 8, 2008. Proceeds of this tournament are solely for the benefit of the Frick Park Clay Courts.


Paul G. Sullivan Tennis Championships 2008 Results


Men's Open Singles

Champion: David Fink
Runner-up: Jacob Bezeck

Women's Open Singles

Champion: Emma Leibowicz
Runner-up: Jackie Hughes
  Men's Senior Singles

Champion: Vince Romito
Runner-up: Jeff Winicour
Men's Open Doubles

Jacob Bezeck - Jason Pugh
Dom Costa - Mike Mezerski
Women's Senior Singles

Champion: Tammy Tjader
Runner-up: Doe Krug

Men's Open Singles
Women's Open Singles update(7-23,5p)
Men's Senior Singles
Women's Senior Singles
Men's Open Doubles
Women's Open Doubles
Mixed Open Doubles

For Photos by FPCCTC Photographer
Andrew Stein - Click Here
Kambiz Doonboli
- Click Here
  Women's Open Doubles

Lynn Giroux - Aldene LaCaria
Marjory Freedline - Katie Freedline
Mixed Open Doubles


Aldene LaCaria - Gulshan Sharma
Nafari Vanaski - Eric Ruka
FPCCTC provided tournament balls for all matches, as well as bananas and sports drinks for players.

Tournament Ball:
Gamma ProTour Regular Duty

USTA Official for Semifinals and Finals:
Barb McMullen
Tournament Chairpersons
  Pittsburgh Parks and Recreation:
Mike Radley (Deputy Director) and
Duane T. Ashley (Director).
  Citiparks Tennis:
Jane Famili (Coordinator)
Doug Brooks (trophies).
FPCCTC Tournament Officials and Volunteers
Jose Mieres and Gulshan Sharma
(Early planning, tournament history research, tournament website development and updates, paper and email registration forms, posters and publicity, match formats, tournament rules, match scheduling and supervision).
Tournament Desk:
Maureen Collins,
Mary Catherine Dykhouse,
Stefanie Hassel,
John Adkins.
        Promotion and Publicity:
Maureen Collins,
Deb Rosen,
Aldene LaCaria.
Karl Franklin,
Kambiz Doonboli,
Andrew Stein,
among others.
Mark Wallace (FPCCTC Email and Mail registrations, Treasurer).
Clay court maintenance during tournament:
Scott Coatsworth,
Stephen Hirtle, among others.
Howard Engelberg,
Mark Wallace,
Deb Rosen,
Jose Mieres
Negotiation for Adopt-a-Park Agreement with the City of Pittsburgh:
Joseph Leibowicz.
  Clay court restoration and supervision during 2008:
Scott Coatsworth, Allen Baum, Craig Simmons,
Matt Siciliano, Stephen Hirtle, Mark Wallace,
John Adkins, Jake Bezeck, among many others.
Draw and Seeding Committee and Advisors            
  Citiparks Tennis:
Jane Famili,
Doug Brooks.
Jose Mieres,
Gulshan Sharma,
Maureen Collins.
  Highland Park Tennis Club:
Bob Gibbs.
  Mt. Lebanon Tennis:
Hank Hughes.
  Pittsburgh Indoor Tennis Club:
Ed Price.
Bob Ruzanic.
Tournament in Action

FPCCTC Volunteers (Thanks!) install the club purchased windscreen on the north fence for the 2008 Paul Sullivan Clay Court Championships (Photo by Jose Mieres).

Volunteer Gulshan (Thanks!) prepares the court for tournament match (Photo by Maureen Collins).
Trophies ready to be presented to the Winners and Finalists (Photo by Andrew Stein).

Tournament Co-Director Gulshan (Vamos!) sets up the matches on the opening weekend of the Champonships (Photo by Kambiz Doonboli).
Clay court tennis enthusiats catch the action during the finals weekend (Photo by Jose Mieres).

2008 Women's Open Champion Emma Leibowicz hits a running forehand during the final match (Photo by Jose Mieres).

2008 Men's Open Champion David Fink sets up for a forehand during the final match (Photo by Kambiz Doonboli).

2008 Men's Open Finalist Jake Bezeck powers a backhand (Photo by Kambiz Doonboli).

2008 Women's Open Finalist Jackie Hughes is in the air when hitting her backhand (Photo by Jose Mieres).
Paul Sullivan, 1937.

In August 1930 the newly constructed Frick Park clay courts first hosted the Pittsburgh Parks Championships.

In 1930 the men singles champion was Frank Broida, and the women singles champion was Jean Artzberger.

Paul Sullivan directed the Pittsburgh Parks Championships held at the Frick Park clay courts from 1930 until 2001.

From 1930 until 2001 there were no tie breaks in any of the matches and there were no age groups in any events.

In 2001 Paul Sullivan directed the tournament for the last time at Frick Park.

In 2002 Paul Sullivan, at 98 years old, put down his racket for the last time and the tournament was renamed the Paul G. Sullivan Tennis Championships.

In 2007 the tournament was relocated back to Frick Park after the volunteer restoration of the red clay courts by the new Frick Park Clay Court Tennis Club.

Frank Broida - 1930 Men's Singles Champion.

Jean Artzberger - 1930 Women's Singles Champion

David Fink
2007 Men’s Open Singles Champion
Photo by Kambiz Doonboli
Jackie Hughes
2007 Women’s Open Singles Champion
Photo by Karl Franklin

Luke Ravenstahl, Mayor
Duane T. Ashley, Director
 Patrick Dowd, City Council Committee on Urban Recreation

Founded June 2007
Awarded 2007 CTA of the Year USTA Allegheny Mountain District
2008 Frick Park Clay Court Tennis Club Sponsors
Dollar Bank, Citizens Bank, Prudential Realty, DJ TurnStyles, Tennis Patrons Foundation of Greater Pittsburgh, State Representative Dan Frankel, Fidelity Bank, Allegheny Chesapeake Physical Therapy, K&L Gates Law, Pair Networks, Tennis Village, Gamma Tennis, Fox Chapel Golf Club,
Rose’s Ice Cream, Regent Square Civic Association, USTA Middle States and USTA MS Allegheny Mountain.

     For Questions or Comments, Please Email:

  Web Content: Josť Mieres and S Hirtle
Web Editor: S Hirtle

Copyright © by FPCCTC, Pittsburgh, PA, 2007-2010

Last modified on: July 12, 2010